“cloud number nine”

Posted: March 26, 2015 in SilkenSounds

Track: Cloud Number Nine
Original Artist: Bryan Adams
Album: On A Day Like Today [1998]

Hit the play button to play the song ..

Right-click and select “Save link as” to download the file

I have always wanted to attend live shows of my favorite musicians but sadly that has mostly been a wish so far. The only one live show I did attend is that of Bryan Adams when he was in Pune in the year 2cloud number nine011. I cannot put the experience into words! Every song he sang was .. was .. I don’t know what to say .. divine! His songs have always been a source of peace in times of great stress. The melody and orchestration of some tracks like brothers under the sun are even a source of deep contemplation. Back when I was learning how to play a guitar, my teacher – Jatin – used to play summer of 69 and I used to feel exasperated at the rate at which I was learning and it always fueled me to learn faster! Of course when I did finally learn to play the signature D-major riff, it was worth all the practice and patience! I will never be able to thank Jatin enough for teaching me the greatest art of life – music!

But this post here is about cloud number nine – one of the most tranquil songs I have ever tried to remake. The rhythm, tempo and mood of this song is somewhat comparable to der lagi lekin from Zindagi Naa Milegi Dobara – another calm and soothing melody. Unfortunately back when I made der lagi lekin, I had not yet found the use of the sound of guitars in FL studio. For cloud number nine however I have used guitars extensively. You may have noticed a pattern in the past few songs I have uploaded. I begin with a point of view of making a very subtle version of the song so it all begins with just guitars and a piano and a few shakers. But halfway through the song I am not able to resist the temptation to add in beats. So there are 2 parts to a song – the subtle start and an upbeat end. I’ll have to stop doing that before it becomes too clichéd!

When I was making the track I realized that it is fortunate that my blog is about instrumental songs and I don’t have to actually sing – because reason number one – you seriously don’t want to hear me sing (yes its that bad!) – and reason number two – come on .. it’s a Bryan Adams song and it sounds nice only in his own husky voice. So thank your stars that you’re not listening to me singing and .. enjoy the track! 🙂

Leave a comment