“ek ladki bheegi bhaagi si”

Posted: February 17, 2013 in SilkenSounds

>> Right-click and select “Save link as” to download the file <<

I am a diehard fan of S. D. Burman’s music. His music was years ahead of anyone else in that era. And it would only be a fool who’d say Kishor Kumar was just a mediocre singer. Not even his own son Amit Kumar was ever able to recreate the magic that Kishorda did. And you can imagine the magic that’d be created when S. D. and Kishorda were bought together. It was like bringing two of the best in class phenomenons together – and the result was this track.chalti ka naam gadi

I remember when I heard this song for the first time, it’s versatility, I felt, was the strongest feature. There have been so many remixes of this song since then and in each one of them the song conveys the same naughty-jolly-funny feeling that Kishorda spun into the original version.

Last weekend, me and my wife went to see “Listen Amaya”. A movie featuring Farookh Shaikh, Deepti Naval  and some other newbie actress. Needless to say, it was a beautiful movie, thanks to the versatile romantic pair of Chashme Baddoor. This movie also featured a remix of the song “ek ladki bheegi bhaagi si”. And it was not just a vulgar remix with weird beats and funky techno sounds – it was a proper rock rendition of the song and was very close to the original version save the strong drum beats.

I guess I subconsciously knew which song was going up on my blog the moment I heard this one! So I need not say that this one here, is an instrumental rock version of the immortal song from “Chalti Ka Naam Gaadi”.

It has been a long time since I uploaded anything on my blog. During this time I did quite a bit of research with sounds and drum kits. I came across a plugin that gave neat, crisp and clean sounds of a drum kit – so I roped that one in to make this track. The fills and variations of the drums are very much real and sound as if they have been played on actual drums.

I am glad I am making a comeback after a long time with a song like this. I am completely satisfied with the way it has turned out. The only hope is, you like it as much as I do.

So with a humble bow to the composer of the song – the music maestro S. D. Burman and the immortal Kishorda who sung it like no one else could have (and acted it out too!) .. I give you .. “ek ladki bheegi bhaagi si”

Comments
  1. Bhuvan says:

    Nice work Mitesh 🙂 I liked it very much ….keep it up!!!

Leave a comment