“purani jeans”

Posted: August 28, 2013 in SilkenSounds

Hit the play button to play the song ..

>> Right-click and select “Save link as” to download the file <<

It’s been over 3 years since I started this blog and uploaded my first song. Today, 29 songs past, every song, every beat, every chord, every note continues to inspire me to keep pushing my understanding of music and try and better myself every time. Over these years I have experimented with many sounds, softwares, instruments and recording techniques and my listeners have been patient enough not just to give an ear to my experiments but even appreciate my efforts in person, by mails, on phone, via comments or on Facebook.

In continuation to my efforts to create melodies in my own style, I present the 30th track on my blog..

“purani jeans” ..

I’d be gone a long distance before I meet anyone who doesn’t know or like this song. We all have a nostalgic shade to our personality.  Maybe more, maybe less, but it is there for sure. Sometimes when you slop down, tired of the everyday grind of life, you go back in time and remember the days when you had no care in this world. When day meant fun and night meant peaceful sleep. When money was only needed for a treat with friends and failing exams was the only greatest fear – something that seems so stupid now! How one day a friend of yours brought his guitar to college and you were surprised to know he could play it quite well.. and he sang this song with everyone else singing in chorus – probably in an empty class or the college canteen or parking…

purani_jeans

This song is dedicated to all those moments, which may be well in the past now, but are still very much alive in our memories. Your present is something you have to work on, the future is something you can never be sure of, but these sweet memories are a thing of your past – something that always will continue to make you smile even in the darkest trials of your life and will help you rise with a smile on your face and happiness in your heart.

Everyone who knows this song subconsciously associates it with a guitar. The acoustic guitar. So naturally that’s the greatest punch of this song. There are 3 kinds of guitars I have used. An acoustic guitar for the riff, strum and lead, an electric guitar for the signature music piece that repeats through the song and a base guitar for base. The rock drums complete the ensemble. This is the first song on my blog for which I have not used any rhythm pad or synth – just the guitars. I have been experimenting with guitar sounds and recordings for a long time now, and I wanted to find a song in which I’d be able to use all that I have learnt on guitars. What better song than this!

So with the hope that this song refreshes your memories, reminds you of your happier and easier days .. your friends, your “purani” jeans and your guitar .. and while doing so brings a smile to your face .. here’s presenting .. “purani jeans” ..

happy listening my friends!

Comments
  1. Thankfulness to my father who told me concerning this webpage, this webpage is genuinely remarkable.

  2. I ϲould not resist commenting. Ԝell written!

  3. Remarkable issues here. I am very happy to see your post.
    Thanks a lot and I’m taking a look forward to contact you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

Leave a comment