“hey ya”

Posted: August 2, 2013 in SilkenSounds

Right-click and select “Save link as” to download the file

They say that with every incarnation, the soul gets older and wiser. Older the soul gets, greater are the talents possessed by it. There are people who are extremely talented at multiple skills, not just one. It makes you think “when the hell did they get the time to hone all these skills while others strive to get better at one or maybe two”. Now, I know that souls and incarnations have always been subjects of debate and not all my readers are believers in the theory. Neither am I. Well, not a staunch one anyway. But why are we suddenly talking about incarnations and old souls on a music blog? Well, as I said, when I see multi-talented artists around me, I wonder how it must feel to be like them.

Last weekend we went to see Bhaag Milkha Bhaag. I was so engrossed in Farhan Akhtar’s acting that I forgot for a moment that he was Farhan and not Milkha! As we were walking out of the cinema hall, I couldn’t help but marvel at all the skills he possesses and makes me think maybe he is one of those ‘old souls’. So many talents come so effortlessly to him. A prolific actor, director, singer, musician, poet, writer, live performer, social activist and an intellectual human being. Ever since his first big bang acting performance in Rock On!! I’ve been a die-hard Farhan fan. I am enthralled by his simplistic nature, high thinking and commitment. I wish I get to meet him some day!Karthik-Calling-Karthik

The song that’s up on silkenSounds this time is in celebration of his natural endowments. Karthik Calling Karthik did not turn out to be that much of a commercial success but then I believe commercial success has never been his work’s focal point. I was .. sorry am .. one of the many admirers of his double-faceted performance in this movie, and this track here is my favorite among all the other songs of KCK. Shankar -Ehsaan-Loy and Farhan Akhtar have become a hit pair like Raj Kapoor and Shankar-Jaikishan or Rajesh Khanna and R. D. Burman.

Deviating a little from the original and brilliantly composed track by S-E-L, I have used traditional rock drums in the song; I wanted to make the song a little more lively since it is an instrumental. Just about everything else is the same, but I do hope my listeners enjoy the little change. I love playing this one while driving – especially on a rainy Saturday afternoon 🙂

Hit play, sit back and let the music take control!

.. and yes .. hail Farhan!! 🙂

 

Leave a comment