“khoya khoya chand”

Posted: December 8, 2011 in SilkenSounds

There are a very few Bollywood names that carry as much charisma and identity as does that of Dev saab. Right from his first public appearance in “Hum Ek Hain” released in 1946 to his 2011’s home production “Charge Sheet” … the man featured in 144 films … no less! … out of which he played the lead role in 110. But what has remained unchanged all through these years … is his unique rapid-fire style of dialogue delivery … the penchant for nodding while speaking … the way he’d walk .. dance .. everything! Even in 2002 when he received the “Dadasaheb Phalke Award” from the then President of India Dr. APJ .. Dev saab walks upto the stage in the same old sloping style and stands on the stage with his hands on his waist facing the crowd … which ofcourse goes berserk!

Dev saab … wdev anandho is credited with more awards than he himself could have ever cared to count is also the one man who has recognized talents and given breaks to a score of successful actors. I wonder what it would have felt like, being in his heydays! Days when people would flock to the theatres to bag a ticket of a Dev Anand starrer superhit film!

On hearing the saddening news of him passing away … I could not help but think about what I could do for him – in my own little way – in return for all the years of entertainment he has given us … and it did not take a whole second to realize that it was time I added a Dev-hit to my blog. I spent the least amount of time choosing the song … because almost as soon as I had made up my mind about this .. the song was – as if subconsciously – decided too!

The massive 1960 hit “Khoya Khoya chand” from “Kala Bazaar”. IMO … this song brought together the best talents that existed at the time … Dev saab … SD Burman … and Rafi … what more could you ask for?! It is the best portrayal of all the styles of Dev saab. If anyone was to ask me “Who is Dev Anand ?”…  I would just simply play this video as an answer.

Usually after I’ve decided on the song … the things that follow it become easier for me. In this case … I was clear on one thing .. on listening to my version of the song .. the listener has to get pulled back into the era when the frame knew only two colors. The song literally makes you feel “masti bhari hawa jo chali … khil khil gayi yeh dil ki kali”!

My version features an old-school beat flow of bongos and rattles and a simple pad for chords. A soft flute Rafi saab’s voice and one thing that probably was not too dominant in those times but something that we can’t do without today .. bass! I still wonder how their songs sound so nice without the bass??! Today .. I can think of no composition without it!

I feel happy and content that I have spent the last few days recreating something that must have been close to Dev saab’s heart. Every moment that I’ve spent in this creation … I’ve had his sweet smiling personality before my eyes . People … I give you “khoya khoya chand” … which for me is not just a song … but a celebration of the star that was … Dev Anand!

Right-click and select “Save link as” to download the file

Leave a comment